What is the penalty for a 16-year-old selling marijuana with the amount for 1-2 oz? - Criminal Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


What is the penalty for a 16-year-old selling marijuana with the amount for 1-2 oz?

I sold when I was 16, and I am now 20. I was never caught but I am just curious on what penalties I would have faced if caught. I am pursuing a career in CIA/FBI and I will admit I sold on a polygraph.

Michael Breczinski
Contact this Attorney Now

In Michigan you would have gone to juvenile court and they would have decided what to do with you. This could have been anything from probation to a juvenile facility.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/10/2014

Answer By Jared Austin
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Contact this Attorney Now

He will be prosecuted as a juvenile but it can still have serious long-term consequences including incarceration in a juvenile detention facility. Make sure he has experienced criminal representation because selling drugs is treated very seriously and harshly by the criminal justice system.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/10/2014

Lawrence Lewis
Contact this Attorney Now

You admit you sold, you will be out of the CIA. Just so you know. There is no penalty in most states, because the statute of limitations has run. It is four years in GA.

Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 7/10/2014

Answer By R. Tambasco

Contact this Attorney Now

Depending on your juvenile record, the likely result would be a probationary period , suspended commitment and participation in a substance abuse program.

Answer Applies to: Indiana
Replied: 7/10/2014

Answer By Darin J. Kanfer

Contact this Attorney Now

The maximum penalty for selling 1-2 ounces of marijuana in Michigan is 4 years in prison. The sentence in any particular case would depend on numerous circumstances including a persons prior criminal record, if any.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/10/2014


Contact this Attorney Now

Possession of up to 50 grams id a disorderly persons offense. 6 Months in jail and up to $1000 in fine plus additional penalties.

Answer Applies to: New Jersey
Replied: 7/10/2014

© 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy