What happens if a 6 month ACD is violated? - Criminal Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


What happens if a 6 month ACD is violated?

What happens if a 6-month ACD is violated in NYC?

Answer By John Carney
Law Offices of John Carney
Contact this Attorney Now

When you violate an ACD it is usually because you are arrested again, didn't do the community service, or did not complete a class that the judge ordered. The original charge is re-instated and your attorney will be offered a Disorderly Conduct or misdemeanor plea. The Disorderly Conduct is a violation, not a criminal record. The misdemeanor would be a criminal record. You may face jail time, but probation or a fine is more likely for a first offense. Retain an attorney to resolve the matter.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 8/16/2011

Expert Bronx Criminal Lawyers
Contact this Attorney Now

Your case can be restored to the court calendar. This is discretionary with the prosecutor's office. Generally, though, the prosecutor's office declines to restore ACD cases to the calendar.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 8/16/2011

Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Contact this Attorney Now

If you get in trouble while the 6 months is not up yet then you will not get the ACD and you will probably be charged with whatever the offense was that prevented you from getting the ACD.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 8/16/2011

Answer By Jared Altman
Law Office of Jared Altman
Contact this Attorney Now

They can restore the charges and pursue the prosecution.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 8/15/2011

© 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy