How much time served for hit and run? - Criminal Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


How much time served for hit and run?

Some people were injured.

Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
Contact this Attorney Now

The maximum is 90 days in jail and a $300 fine.

Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 7/19/2011

LynchLaw
Contact this Attorney Now

What you are referring to is a violation of Vehicle Code section 20001. The charge could be filed as a misdemeanor or a felony. If charged as a misdemeanor the maximum sentence is one year in county jail. Charged as a straight felony, the maximum sentence could be three years in prison. If however the injuries result in permanent or serious injury the maximum sentence could be four years in prison. Permanent or serious injury means the loss or permanent impairment of function of a bodily member or organ.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/15/2011

Answer By Seth J. Bloom
Bloom Legal, LLC
Contact this Attorney Now

This will depend specifically upon the severity of the accident, the number of injured parties, the extent of their injuries, etc. As a general rule, the penalties for a hit and run driving conviction in Louisiana are as follow: -When no death or 'serious bodily injury' occur: Jail time of 10 days - 6 months; Fines of up to $500 -When death or 'serious bodily injury' result: Jail time of up to 10 years and/or Fines of up to $5,000 Due to the potentially extremely serious penalties upon conviction if you believe you are facing criminal charges for hit and run driving, it would be advisable to contact an experienced local criminal defense attorney to begin work on your case immediately.

Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 7/15/2011

Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Contact this Attorney Now

I would need much more details as the amount of sentence varies depending upon the facts and circumstances, whether you plead guilty or are convicted after a trial etc.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/15/2011

Law Office of Richard Williams
Contact this Attorney Now

Hit and run with injuries is a clas C felony. The punishment for a class c felony is incarceration for not less than one year and one day nor more than ten (10) years, provided that you have no prior felony offenses. The fine for a class C felony is up to $15,000, and you will be required to pay restitution. Your driving privileges will be suspended possibily indefinitely.

Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 7/15/2011

Answer By John Carney
Law Offices of John Carney
Contact this Attorney Now

You ave not provided me with enough information to give you an accurate accessment of your case. You should retain an experienced criminal attorney to repentant you. If they were seriously hurt you will do a year or more in jail or even a state prison term.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/14/2011

Frances R. Johnson
Contact this Attorney Now

It depends on the circumstances, and the person's criminal history. Consult an attorney with the specific facts of your situation.

Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 7/14/2011

Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Contact this Attorney Now

Hit & Run charges are usually class A misdemeanor charges which could result in jail up to 12 months and fines up to $2500. The actual sentence you receive is determined by the Judge.

Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 7/14/2011

Answer By Terry Nelson
Nelson & Lawless
Contact this Attorney Now

Since it will likely be charged as a felony because of injuries, you face potentially between one to four years in state prison. Youll learn the actual charge[s] filed against you when you appear for arraignment at your first court hearing. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, and can you be convicted, and what can you do? No amount of free 'tips and hints' from here or anywhere else are going to effectively help you in your defense. A little free advice: exercise the 5th Amendment right to SHUT UP and do NOT talk to anyone except an attorney about the case. Raise all possible defenses with whatever admissible and credible witnesses, evidence and facts are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or at trial. You can hire an attorney, unless you know how to effectively represent yourself in court against a professional prosecutor intending to convict. He will try to get a dismissal, diversion, reduction or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. Ill be happy to help use whatever defenses there may be. Terry A. Nelson Attorney at Law 2134 Main St. #130 Huntington Beach, CA 92646 (714) 960-7584 email lawyer@surfcity.net Privileged And Confidential Communication. The information contained in this document is intended solely for use by the intended recipient[s]. This electronic transmission, and any documents attached hereto, (a) are protected by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act (18 USC 2510-2521), (b) may contain privileged and confidential information including information which may be protected by the attorney-client and/or attorney work product privileges. If you have received this electronic message in error, please notify the sender and delete the electronic message. Any disclosure, copying, distribution, or use of the contents of the information received in error is strictly prohibited.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/14/2011

Answer By Richard Goolsby
Goolsby Law Office
Contact this Attorney Now

We recommend you retain a criminal lawyer ASAP. No one can predict how much time you might serve, but you need a lawyer. Good luck!

Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 7/14/2011

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy