How long do I have to press sexual assault charges after an assault has occurred? - Criminal Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


How long do I have to press sexual assault charges after an assault has occurred?

My stepfather sexually assaulted me when I was 4 and 13. Is it too late to press charges?


Contact this Attorney Now

Forever in Wyoming, there is no statute of limitations in this state. You may file charges in Wyoming.

Answer Applies to: Wyoming
Replied: 8/7/2012

Answer By Mark Leonardo
Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo
Contact this Attorney Now

You did not indicate how old you are now. You should contact your local police to inquire about the time frame to press criminal charges.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/1/2012

Michael Breczinski
Contact this Attorney Now

Depends on how old you are now. Just go to the police.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/31/2012

Answer By Melvin Franke

Contact this Attorney Now

You need to make a police report and ask the police to send it to the Prosecuting Attorney. He will decide whether or not to prosecute.

Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 7/31/2012

Answer By Victor Varga

Contact this Attorney Now

Sorry, I do not handle criminal matters, but the police or state?s attorney will have your answer.

Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 7/30/2012


Contact this Attorney Now

Legally, there may be a 'statute of limitations' which would prevent the prosecuting attorney from pursuing the case or protect the perpetrator from being held responsible. My advice is to file a report with your local police and let it and the prosecutor determine whether to fle charges.

Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
Replied: 7/29/2012

David F. Stoddard
Contact this Attorney Now

There is no statute of limitations to bring criminal charges for sexual assault. It does become more difficult, however, with the passage of time. You should contact the law enforcement agency in the City or County where the assaults occurred.

Answer Applies to: South Carolina
Replied: 7/29/2012

Austin Hirschhorn, P.C.
Contact this Attorney Now

Under Michigan law if you are under the age of 23 years you could still file a complaint because the statute requires that a complaint be filed by age 21 or within 10 years of the last offense. If the sexual assault is a forcible rape there is no statute of limitations. If you qualify under the statute you should immediately report what happened to you to the police.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/29/2012

Answer By Roy L. Reeves
Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
Contact this Attorney Now

You did not state your age now, but my best guess is no, it is not. Contact the District Attorney in your county.

Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 7/28/2012


Contact this Attorney Now

Check your state's statute of limitations statute, or simply contact your local district attorney's office and relay your story. They will know if the statute has run on your case. In most areas there is a 7 year statute for most crimes, the most notable exception is murder). The question to answer is when does the statute begin to run. I would think that for crimes that happened to you when you were age 3 and 14 that you would be given some additional time since you were only a minor and wouldn't have been allowed to sign the affidavits on your own. Again, I would advise you to contact the district attorney's office.

Answer Applies to: Mississippi
Replied: 7/28/2012

© 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy