Can they still sue me after a year and a half car accident? - Auto Accident Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


Can they still sue me after a year and a half car accident?

I was driving a work vehicle at the time of the accident and now a year and a half later I was served papers.

Answer By John Danelon

Contact this Attorney Now

The statute of limitations for personal injury in California under California Civil Procedure Code section 335.1 is 2 years, thus they do have the right to sue at this point.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/3/2013

Answer By Erven Nelson

Contact this Attorney Now

Yes, in Nevada they can sue you up to 2 years from the date of the accident. I suggest that you turn the matter over to your employer, and notify your personal insurance company.

Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 9/3/2013

Answer By Jim Hasser
James E. Hasser, Jr. P.C.
Contact this Attorney Now

In Alabama, you have two years from the accident to sue. Turn the papers over to your insurance company. They will assign you a lawyer to defend you and they will pay any settlement or judgment up to the limits of the policy. Good luck.

Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 9/3/2013

Answer By John Russo

Contact this Attorney Now

They have 3 years in most jurisdictions.

Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 9/3/2013

Vasilaros Legal,LLC
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes they can. The statute of limitations for most vehicle accidents in Florida is 4 years, which means they have up to four years from the date of the accident to file suit. Immediately notify your Insurance Company of the law suit.

Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 9/3/2013

Answer By Thomas E. Gates

Contact this Attorney Now

Under the statute of limitations they have 3 years to file. Since it was a work vehicle, your company is liable unless you were acting negligently.

Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 9/3/2013

Frank Law Group, P.C.
Contact this Attorney Now

The injured party has two years from the date of the accident to file suit.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/3/2013

Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
Contact this Attorney Now

Statute of limitations is 3 years.

Answer Applies to: North Carolina
Replied: 9/3/2013

Answer By Will Rodgers
Utah Injury Lawyer
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes. In Utah, the statute of limitations (time within a complaint in court must be filed) is 4 years from the date of the auto accident.

Answer Applies to: Utah
Replied: 9/3/2013

Beaver Holt Sternlicht and Courie, P.A.
Contact this Attorney Now

In North Carolina, there is a three-year statute of limitations for filing a suit based on negligence after a car wreck.

Answer Applies to: North Carolina
Replied: 9/3/2013

© 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy