Can criminal charges be filed at a later date? - Criminal Law Questions and Answers- LawQA.com

Free Answers to your Legal Questions by Lawyers.
ask »


Can criminal charges be filed at a later date?

If I was involved in a fight in someone's home. The police were called. No one pressed charges. The cops actually took me home. Can charges be pressed at a later date?

Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes. The District Attorney's Office has one year to file misdemeanor criminal charges and two years to file most felony charges.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 11/9/2011

Answer By Hieu N Vu
Law Office of Hieu Vu
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes they can. Charges do not have to be charged right away. The DA has plenty of time to charge. It is not unusual for a crime to be charged 10-11 months after the incident. This happens because courts are clogged and the state is clogged.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 11/9/2011

Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Contact this Attorney Now

Every crime has a statute of limitations time period for which the prosetion can file charges. Most crimes have a time period of at least one year. Murder has no statute of limitations.

Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 11/8/2011

Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Contact this Attorney Now

Criminal charges can be filed up to the statute of limitations which is 5 years.

Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 11/7/2011

Answer By Jules Fiani
Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 11/4/2011

Answer By Seth L. Reszko

Contact this Attorney Now

Yes. If you are charged with a misdemeanor, the State has one year to file criminal charges. If a gross misdemeanor, the state usually has two years to file charges.

Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 11/4/2011

Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Contact this Attorney Now

There is a one year statute of limitations for misdemeanors and a three year statute for most felonies.

Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 11/4/2011

Answer By Kevin O'Grady
The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes. Charges can be brought as long as the statute of limitations has not run.

Answer Applies to: Hawaii
Replied: 11/3/2011

Law Firm of Martin & Wallentine
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes. The police can and often do pursue charges later. However, there is a statute of limitations for most crimes. Therefore, they can't wait forever.

Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 11/3/2011

Answer By Steven Dunnings
Dunnings Law Firm
Contact this Attorney Now

Yes.

Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 11/3/2011

© 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | IB Cookie Policy